Ethics

Burmese orphan dependent on Thailand refugee camp for survival

Burmese orphan dependent on Thailand refugee camp for survival

Does this picture draw you in? Does it impel you to stop and wonder why and what and who?

Thinking about how to move forward on assignment one – I have a new tutor who has suggested different ways to consider the work that I was proposing. The Gross’ do a lot of photography when they are in Thailand working with the orphans and my tutor suggested that I could perhaps use some of those images that Carl has generously donated to my cause. I have a number of concerns as I start to think about ‘found’ objects – in this case donated images – in my work. Clearly there is the issue that I didn’t take these images, but if I can accept that then I could  appropriate them into another piece – their inclusion in my work shifts them into my domain? I wonder about that, but am ready to go with it for a while. If they become ‘mine’ do I then have the right to do with them what I will? Can I edit then, photoshop them,  turn them into my creations in order to create an ‘Umney’ image that I feel is more compelling in the piece that I am creating? Carte blanche?

Making use of the education services provided by the Thai camp for Burmese refugees

Making use of the education services provided by the Thai camp for Burmese refugees

staringc2

Re-training to help integration into Thai society

Re-training to help integration into Thai society

tighter crop

tighter crop

These are the originals all below are provided by Carl – there are 100’s available. I had added text to some of the images, intent on driving narrative, expecting to extract emotion from the viewer. But is it ethical to do this? – should I leave them as is, as provide, as ‘found’???

Burmese orphan

Burmese orphan

Is this more or less compelling than the top image? It’s brighter, less ‘moody’, less likely to make the viewer be concerned perhaps?

original picture provided by Carl Gross

original picture provided by Carl Gross

And what about this? Not exactly gritty realism, but certainly changing the tone…

There is a huge need for artificial limbs in Thailand, they are required for the refugees who pour over the border from Burma after having limbs blown off by landmines. The Burmese army have been using these peasants to walk in front of them as they try and clear the jungle of insurgents

There is a huge need for artificial limbs in Thailand, they are required for the refugees who pour over the border from Burma after having limbs blown off by landmines. The Burmese army have been using these peasants to walk in front of them as they try and clear the jungle of insurgents

 

chairs editc2

IMG_7385c2 IMG_7170c2 IMG_6888c2 IMG_7056c2 IMG_7146c2

Leave a Reply

